Container Gardening · Daily Living

Herbs and worms

 

The garden is never finished without herbs. I ordered these for teas and cooking. Here’s the list that will reside inside in my mason jar garden. Maybe not the geranium and Vicks plants, but the others will start there …

  • Bay Laurel 
  • Eucalyptus 
  • Rose Geranium 
  • Pineapple Mint
  • Greek Oregano
  • Passion Fruit
  • Scullcap 
  • Strawberry Climbing Plant
  • Lemon Verbena
  • Vicks Plant
  • Yerba Buena
  • Zaatar  

The plan is to nail boards across the kitchen windows and clamp the jars to them. It’s time to get all of this in gear. If I can’t get the boards, the jars will work by themselves.

I also started the worm bucket today for composting. I finished drilling holes in the bucket and caulking the screen on the lid 2 days ago. Today I layered the shredded paper, kitchen scraps, and organic soil so it can start getting ready for the worm shipment. I’m so excited and I really need to have something to tend, indoors and out.

I took down the kitchen table which is an old metal based thing someone gave me. G and I will move it to the basement, set it up, and who knows, I may keep things growing through the winter. I’ll have to figure out the lighting, but if people can grow pot in a basement, I’m sure I can figure out growing spinach. lol

I took out a small loan from the bank this month so I could get a few things for the home, pay for dental work, and buy new clothes for the kiddo. My son is heading off to college in August. He needs a good send off. He’s been my steady hand since his dad’s stroke. His life has been delayed too. I figure I need to lay plans to do things by myself – that includes making the things I use, more accessible – it sure will take some getting used to.

So let’s see what pictures I can share today. I’ve got the new seedlings, the jars and bands, and a selfie. Gotta do a selfie sometimes, right? lol TTYL!

 

 

Leave a comment