Container Gardening

Dead Ants

… dead ants… dead ants… dead ants-dead ants-dead ants … dead annnts… deadantsdeadants. You got me? lol Dead and gone. Equal parts Borax (laundry aide), white sugar, and enough honey to moisten by stirring. I put it on the ant hill which happened to be at the base of my vertical garden and partially underneath – I have dogs so this made putting the mixture out convenient (under the barrel). Borax will make your pets ill. There is NO ant activity this morning! I also cut a small slit into an empty water bottle after adding the same mixture to it and laid it on its side. Victory!

20180702_095257_film3

This morning, my worm bucket is made. I had scrap screen, 2 buckets, a lid, and caulk. So the order is up to you.

  • I drilled holes in the lid.
  • Next, I drilled holes in the bottom of one 5-gallon bucket, cut two circles of screening using a.) the bottom as a measure, and b.) the top as a measure.
  • I did not caulk the screen I laid into the bottom of the bucket in place.
  • I DID use plenty of waterproof adhesive caulk to hold the lid circle in place.
  • It’s drying/curing in the sunshine.
  • Another bucket has water setting to evaporate the chlorine from it so that I can wet my shredded paper in it for the bedding.

Everything is looking so good. Later, I will begin a second vertical barrel using the smaller hole saw. I started plants on Saturday and some are already up. I figure I have a couple of days before I need it done. My friend’s hydroponic garden tower is looking lovely too. I’m excited for both of us!

20180702_095448_film3

 

One thought on “Dead Ants

Leave a comment