Container Gardening · Daily Living

So enjoying my new hobbies

All my life I have kept long twist ties. Don’t ask me why – I have lost the root memory. HOWEVER – this morning I used one! lol, I couldn’t wait on being able to afford a tomato cage to support my cucumbers, so I used 3, 4-ft metal fence posts (which I had), and tied the tops together with that twist tie! No picture yet because I forgot to take one while the leaves were gorgeous after the rain, but as soon as the plants discover their supports, I promise I will post an update! There are blooms on everything. I do believe the tomatoes are a titch spindly because the cukes were blocking their sun. well, that is fixed.

I’ve had my hands in the dirt, a shower, and NOW it’s coffee time. I’ve been enjoying pictures of my daughter and granddaughter from Hawaii. Sara is visiting her mama from Georgia! I can see she’s shorter than I thought. There is something very much my daughter about her. ❤ She’s beautiful. I can’t wait to know her one day. 

The houseplants are looking amazing.

I have to share a funny thing… we’ve been discussing the benefits of CBD oil (and hemp vs weed), and I got a tiny packet in the mail today from someone. It had seeds in it! No note, just 10 seeds. It would be totally like this person to send me seeds for pot. I stressed over this for 6 hrs and finally got in touch with her. She sent me wisteria seeds. Gotta love people for so many reasons! She’d gotten them for me for my birthday and it took this long for them to arrive. Back when she ordered them, we’d been discussing trying bonsai with wisteria.

The worms have settled in. I’ve realized that we will need bigger buckets for them based on our scraps. I’m going to use some 35-gallon Sterilite bins and move them to the top of the basement steps.

Oh yeah, I heard back from the nice people at Kombucha Kamp. They said my scoby has an overabundance of yeast – no mold. It can affect the way it tastes. Yeast is usually white to pale beige, not orange to brownish like this is. It’s up to me what to do about it. I can throw it out and start again, or use it then possibly start another batch and see what happens. Well, it tastes so good I do believe I’ll try another batch 🙂 when this one is done of course! Reading up on yeast, the humidity could be a factor, too many plants, where I set it to brew, etc. Well, I imagine we will typically have yeasty kombucha because I am not culling my plants! lol Gotta go with the flow, right? Especially since it’s an energy thing. ❤

37318015_2179577078946712_3435391718407536640_n

Leave a comment